I don’t fit into the “mold”

I had a recent discovery. I’ve mentioned I quit my job, did some traveling, and now I’m back at home re-evaluating my life.

We are expected to graduate high school, get amazing SAT & ACT scores, and get into a prestigious 4-year university. I was confined to this mold – graduated high school and decided to stay local and attend a CSU.

We are then expected to graduate college in 4 years and get a full-time job. (Why else did we go to college, right??) Again, I was confined to this mold. I graduated in 3 years (thanks AP classes) and moved to San Diego in search of a full-time job.

I was recruited (and tricked) into working for a tech “start-up” in sales. I was decently good at it, so I continued to wake up at 4:30AM to be in the office by 5:30AM at the latest.

It took me a year and a half to muster up the strength to realize I do not fit into societal molds. Even after quitting my full-time job, I felt almost ashamed. The entire point of the last 8 or so years of schooling was for THAT moment, THAT job.

Today I realized “nah, that doesn’t work for me.” I do not fit into the mold. I was unhappy, my mental and physical health was in question, and for what? Simple – to fit into the mold I was raised to fit into.

So here I am, unemployed and paving my own path. Creating my own mold. I have some ideas of what I want my mold to be. Or maybe I don’t want a mold at all.

Leave a comment